Skip navigation

Welcome to the Pension Quality Mark

The Pension Quality Mark (PQM) is an accreditation for workplace DC pension schemes that meet high standards. It is part of the Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association (PLSA) whose mission is to help everyone achieve a better income in retirement.  

PQM launched in 2009 and has recently had a thorough review, resulting in new PQM Standards.

Holding PQM demonstrates that a pension scheme has been independently ranked as good, and meets the PQM Standards.  

Around 180 pension schemes currently hold either PQM  or PQM PLUS, with over 600,000 employees actively saving in these schemes. 
The most recently awarded schemes are: MMT BTUK Retirement Savings Plan and B.Braun UK Group Personal Pension Plan.

The Standards include: having an employer commitment to assist employees in saving for an adequate retirement income.  Contributions must be at least 12%. The scheme should be well-governed with an effective board, and appropriate investment strategy. The scheme must have an engagement strategy and provide communications which are suitable for the members' needs.

More information for employers 

More information for employees 

More information for consultants  

Pension schemes with PQM include employees in a variety of sectors, including financial services, charities, retail, pharmaceuticals and engineering. Check which pension schemes have PQM .

How to Apply 

Contact us  

Latest Tweet 11:59 AM, 24th Jan 2019 by PQM

New PQM Standards published today. See

Latest news

24/01/2019 - PQM Standards 2019 read more

18/10/2018 - PQM Distinction award 2018 read more

Contact us

T: 020 7601 1736

Securing this independent recognition for the Manchester United Group Pension Scheme is an important step in the way we communicate the benefits of retirement planning to staff.
Philip Townsend, Director of Communications at Manchester United